Student Affairs awards honor Saint Mary’s community

Posted By: Ben Rodgers On: 2022-04-22
Posted On: 2022-04-22

Saint Mary’s University recognizes outstanding students, faculty, and staff, who have exhibited outstanding leadership and service through co-curricular activities.

Awards include:

Student Service Award — Terra Lieser, daughter of Curt and Risa Lieser, of Andover, Minn.

Brother Charlie Burke, FSC Award (This award is presented to a faculty or staff member who has made significant contributions to the entire Student Life Department. This individual has promoted the growth of the whole student through their exemplary standard of ethical service, dedication to creating developmental relationships, and their desire to promote lifelong learning.) — Dean Beckman, associate professor of business and communication, faculty athletic representative.

Brother Finbar McMullin, FSC Award (This award is presented to a professional member of the Saint Mary’s University campus who demonstrates him/herself to be an individual who unselfishly meets the needs of the undergraduate students) — Andrea “A” Getzin, director of residence life.

Outstanding Student Senator of the Year — Samantha Carlson, daughter of Darren Carlson of Saint Paul, Minn.

Student Senate Executive of the Year — Mary Furlong, daughter of Joseph and Allison of Deer Park, Ill.

Club and Organization Adviser of the Year — Dr. Tim Gossen, student senate adviser

Club and Organization of the Year — Student Senate

Cardinal Pride Award — Anthony Pasquesi, son of Scott and Lisa Pasquesi of Elmwood Park, Ill. 

Student Athlete Champion Award — Matthew Klosky, assistant professor of business and communication.

Charlene “Char” Tjaden Outstanding Resident Assistant Award — Katherine Schroettner, daughter of Andrew and Margherita Schroettner of Oconomowoc, Wis.

Blessed James Miller, FSC Award (This award is presented to a student who has dedicated their college experience to promoting the legacy of Blessed James Miller, spreading the compassion of God, and continually serving the community) — Oran Dornelly, son of George and Francisca Dornelly of Micoud, Saint Lucia. 

Saint Benilde Award (This award is presented to a student who reaches out to new members of the university community, is inclusive and inspiring, and leads by being hospitable, open, and accepting) — Faustyna Nguyen, daughter of Francois and Trang Nguyen of Rochester, Minn.

Winona Community Service Award — Cassidy Meyer, daughter of Jon and Sue Meyer of Hastings, Minn.