NACDD Public Health AmeriCorps Virtual Info Session 4/30

Posted By: Kerri Carlson Anderson On: 2024-04-22
Posted On: 2024-04-22

National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD) Public Health AmeriCorps Info Session

Tuesday, April 30th 2024
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm

RSVP to receive link on Handshake

Step out of the classroom and into your community! Your knowledge and passion are all you need to serve.

Join this information session to learn more about how you can tackle real challenges facing your community and jumpstart your career in public health with the National Association of Chronic Disease Directors (NACDD).

NACDD is a national public health non-profit agency focused on the health of the public by strengthening state and national leadership and expertise for chronic disease prevention and control.

In this session, the NACDD PHA team will provide an overview of the program, discuss how to become a Service Member, highlight existing Service Members’ experiences, and create a space for questions and answers. To enhance public health resources across the country and support state and local public health settings respond to and recover from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Public Health AmeriCorps (PHA) program supports the recruitment, training, and development of the next generation of public health leaders. In partnership with a State Health Department or similar agency, local health department(s) or other community-based organization(s), and/or a local YMCA or YMCA State Alliance, Service Members will be placed across fifteen states to advance existing efforts around food and nutrition security, safe physical activity access, social connectedness, and health equity, all within the context of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Must be an upper level (3rd or 4th year) undergraduate student or graduate level student enrolled at a college or university pursuing a public health degree or related degree.

Please note AmeriCorps is specifically recruiting applicants to serve in Alaska, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and West Virginia.