2022 Departmental Awards & Honor Society Recognition

Posted By: Ben Rodgers On: 2022-05-09
Posted On: 2022-05-09

Biology Department

Biology Academic Achievement Award

Recipients: Jordan Keeley, Natalie Munich, Brooklyn Paulson, Rachel Simon, Jack Strotbeck, and Elijah Szymanski

This award was established to honor biology majors who maintained a 3.8 or greater grade point average in both their major and cumulative courses. 

Biology Bios Award

Recipients: Dakota Becerra and Jack Strotbeck

This award was created to recognize a unique graduating individual whom the faculty observed mature as a learner, a scientist, and person and whom, by their presence among us, enhanced the department over the span of their undergraduate career. 

Business and Communication Department

Outstanding Accounting Major Award
Recipient: Brett Lettner

Outstanding Business Intelligence and Data Analytics Major Award
Recipient: John Paul Keane

Outstanding Finance Major Award
Recipient: Mandukhai Alimaa

Outstanding International Business Major Award
Recipient: Zhenyu Xing

Outstanding Management Major Award
Recipient: Jacob Simmons

Outstanding Marketing Major Award
Recipient: Jordan Modjeski

Outstanding Public Relations and Digital Media Major Award
Recipient: Kelly Ferguson, Morgan Prokosch

Outstanding Sport Management Major Award
Recipient: Grace Gilles

Kevin Martineau Aware for Outstanding Academic Achievement
Recipient: Jordan Modjeski

This award is given in memory of Kevin Martineau, a business student who was tragically killed in a car accident just before his senior year at Saint Mary’s. His friends and family created the award in his name, which is given each year to honor the business student with the highest cumulative grade point average.

Chemistry Department

The American Institute of Chemists Student Award in Chemistry
Recipient: Michelle Dewitz

The American Institute of Chemists Student Award in Biochemistry
Recipient: Caitlin Preusser

American Chemical Society Outstanding Senior Award
Recipient: Terra Lieser

Organic Chemistry Achievement Award
Recipients: Kaydi Breeser, Isaiah Brindamour

General Chemistry Achievement Award
Recipient: Kendra Klobe

Lasallian Honors Program

Outstanding Lasallian Honors Student Award
Recipient: Bridgette Hegarty

Mathematics, Computer Science, and Physics Department

The Br. J. Leo Northam Award for Outstanding Senior in the Mathematical Sciences
Recipient: Ryan Stoynich

Education Department

Kappa Delta Pi Honor Society
Bridgette Hegarty
Marian Hollenbeck
Maddy Long
Luke Pauly
Tzolquin Pinedo
Maya Reichenbacher
Daniela Zavala

Psychology and Social Sciences Department

Larry Luttmers Award for Excellence in the Research Process (Psychology)
Recipients: Clarissa Van Dale, Isabelle Lindahl

Marilyn Frost Award for Exemplary Commitment to Psychology and Service in the Lasallian Tradition
Recipient: Destiny Walker

Departmental Distinction in Psychology and Social Sciences
Warlyston Barros
Isaac Barutha
Grace Cushman
Tabitha Fabin
Angelyssa Figueroa
Sarah Halverson
Sarah Hannan
Kailee Johnson
Jonathon Krull
Isabelle Lindahl
Ashlyn Seifert
Erin Sullivan
Clarissa Van Dale
Destiny Walker
Caroline Woodle

Psi Chi Honor Society
Adrianna Baab
Warlyston Barros
Tabitha Fabin
Angelyssa Figueroa
Sarah Hannan
Dara Kaiser
Zachary Kjeseth
Emily Krautkremer
Isabelle Lindahl
Holland Lutgen
Catherine Schiltz
Ashlyn Seifert
Noah Skemp
Abrianna Utgaard
Clarissa Van Dale
Akyra Virgous
Destiny Walker
Caroline Woodle

Department of Fine and Performing Arts

Grove Bree Holman Award
Recipient: Clarissa Van Dale

The Grove Bree Holman Award is an award given in honor of Grove Holman who passed away shortly after graduating from Saint Mary’s University. This award, provided by his family, is presented to a non-theatre major who has been actively involved in a musical theatre production and who best demonstrates the performance level and personal qualities which made Grove Holman the admired and loved performer that he was.

Millie Harrison Spirit Award
Recipient: Laura Herronen

The Millie Harrison Spirit Award is an award given in honor of Millicent “Millie” Harrison, a Theatre major at Saint Mary’s, who passed away suddenly in her freshman year 2011. Millie was an extraordinary young woman who made an immediate impression on the Saint Mary’s community through her generosity, enthusiasm, dedication, love of life, and genuinely warm approach to each person she met. Recipients of this award demonstrate the following attributes to faculty, staff, and students.

  • Graduating Theatre major
  • Demonstrates a sense of ensemble and collaboration, strong ethics and values, and the spirit of humility
  • Is a positive ambassador for the Department of Theatre and DanceIs a creative individual and thinks outside the box
  • Is contagiously enthusiastic

 Michael G. Flanagan Ghost Light Award
Recipient: Mackenzie Jensen

The Michael G. Flanagan Ghost Light Award was established in 2005 when Dr. Michael Flanagan retired as professor of theatre arts. The ghost light is the light in the theatre which burns anytime the theatre is unoccupied. Its light serves anyone who enters the theatre. It gives light, but never has light cast upon it. The recipient of the Ghost Light Award is a theatre major who has worked hard and effectively, though without significant recognition. The recipient understands the importance of all aspects of theatre production, and has sought out opportunities to understand theory and perfect practice in a significant variety of assigned tasks.

Gerald Sullivan Award – Outstanding Senior Theatre Major
Recipient: Ana Paula Saldeñas Cisneros

Gerry Sullivan was the director of the Theatre at Saint Mary’s College from 1959 – 1967. If it were not for him, there would not be a Theatre Department today. His productions for Theatre Saint Mary’s clearly established the fact that great theatre could be done in the third floor theatre of St. Mary’s Hall (currently the Common Room). This room provided Gerry with the opportunity to mount many of the spectacular productions which were his trademark, including a functional showboat which moved on and off stage. Those who create theatre in state of the art spaces, such as our Page Theatre, must always remember from where we have come. This award, currently hanging in the Common Room, warmly recalls the continuing contribution of Gerald E. Sullivan by honoring those who contribute so much today. The recipient of the Outstanding Senior Theatre Major is someone who has achieved both academic and artistic excellence and has shown leadership abilities and dedication to the Department of Theatre and Dance and to our community.